Saturday, June 30, 2018

"In Nomine Rex Inferni" by Occultum

Black Metal from Poland.

Release Date July 2018.

Occultum returns with the second album “In Nomine Rex Inferni”; a classic, uncompromising black metal. An altar dripping in blood, filled with venom, cloaked in death. Seven hymns for Lord of Darkness glories, glory of Death, possession in Darkness embrace! Instinctive hatred turned into a disdain for holy symbols. Armageddon which nothing will stop. Album released on the gold CD. All copies are hand numbered.

Digital and CD (Old Temple, Bandcamp)

Friday, June 29, 2018

"Refuse to Exist!" by Goatskullt

Black Metal from Helsinki, Finland.

Release Date June 2018.

Goatskullt, a threepiece black metal band from Helsinki that plays a style of raw and old school black metal have released their debut full length album Refuse To Exist!

"... Dark  sounding  synths  start  off  the  album  before  going  into  a  heavier  direction  while  the  faster  sections  of  the  songs  also  use  a  great  amount  of  tremolo  picking  and  blast  beats  which  also  gives  the  songs  a  more  raw  feeling  along  with  the  vocals  being  mostly  hateful  black   metal  screams.

 A  great  amount  of  90's  influences  can  be  heard  in  the  bands  musical  style  while  the  songs  also  bring  in  a  decent  mixture  of  slow,  mid  paced  and  fast  parts  along  with  some  melodies  also  being  added  into  the  guitar  riffing  at  times,  spoken  word  parts  and  melodic  vocals  can  also  be  heard  briefly  and  all  of  the  musical  instruments  have  a  very  powerful  sound  to  them and  as  the  album  progresses  a  brief  use  of  clean  playing  can  also  be  heard.

 Goatskullt  plays  a  style  of  black  metal  that  is  very raw  in  the  90's  tradition,  the  production  sounds  very  raw  and  old  school  while  the  lyrics  are  written  in  a  mixture  of  Finnish  and  English  and  cover  Satanism  and  Anti  Life  themes..." (Occult Black Metal Zine)

Digital (Goatskullt, Bandcamp)

"Fredagsmys" by VANHELGA

Black Metal, Sweden.

Released 29 June 2018.

"Fredagsmys" was released by Osmose Productions by the end of June.

Their music is cold and sinister but with melodies and melancholic moments that can draw you in and lull you into a false sense of security before you realise, too late, that you have been caught in an ominous web of sound that sends shivers down your spine.

As quoted by the band, "Through music and lyrics VANHELGA, which translated from Swedish means “Profane”, “explores the darker side of humanity. The one that few will admit exists, but which nevertheless is a huge part of every individual’s existence.” "


CD / DIGIPACK / limited black LP / limited blue LP / limited TAPE:

Band Members:
145188: Guitars, Vocals, Lyrics
D. Franzén: Drums
J. Ejnarsson: Guitars (lead), Vocals (backing)
R. Jönsson: Bass

Thursday, June 28, 2018

"Endémique" EP by Emprise

Black Metal from Québec, Canada.

Released April 2018.

Emprise, a new low-profile underground entity that emerged this year, released in April their first debut EP titled "Endémique". A duo from Quebec that shares the guitarist, bassist and lyric writer artist of Mort aux Gueux and Cardinal covering the vocals and drums. This is a new and promising band that has a visceral and catchy raw sound with a slight punk influence and far from the generic and traditional  black metal. Their lyrics are deeply rooted with the Québécois culture and covers poems by Émile Nelligan.

"Endémique" is available both digitally and on cassette format through Corde Raide Productions. 

Excellent Black Metal from Quebec!

"Mythen, Mären, Pestilenz" by UNGFELL

Black Metal from Switzerland.

Released 23-March-2018.

Unholy medieval walpurgis black metal originating from Switzerland with themes based on
Swiss folklore, historical events, hate and anger.

Ungfell moved from strength to strength and released its sophomore full-length "Mythen, Mären, Pestilenz" in the Spring of 2018 through Eisenwald Tonschmiede. Having replaced Infermità with Vâlant on drums, the release showed a particular focus on songwriting and aggression in performance, without sacrificing the intricacies that made Ungfell easily distinguishable from other acts. "Mythen, Mären, Pestilenz" revealed an unbridled fury and directness that was further enhanced by a more direct and massive approach to production. 

"...Ungfell boast a singularly weird approach to black metal, balancing an icy, blasting attack, moody breathers, and swinging, folksy instrumentation. The closest comparison is Peste Noire for the blackened parts which occupy the largest slice of this aural gateau..."

Band Members
Menetekel - Guitars, Bass, Vocals, and Additional Instruments
Vâlant - Drums

Digital, CD and LP (Ungfell/Bandcamp, Eisenwald Tonschmiede)

Friday, June 15, 2018

"Wolfcult Domination" EP by GOAT DISCIPLE

Black/Death Metal from Utah, US.

Released on 15-June-2018.

"...Hailing from Salt Lake City, Utah, GOAT DISCIPLE are a quintet who unapologetically craft WAR METAL. In the strictest sense, their particular style of spurn 'n' churn melds the most barbaric recesses of black metal to the molten muscle of death metal..." (Blood Harvest Records)

"...Goat Disciple are not playing to trends, they just cough up visceral, grating black-death cruelty and ferocity. The quartet of tracks melt into one another as blackened, billowing meat-grinders with only occasional mid-tempo breathers in order to inhale more toxic fumes of terror..."

Band Members:
R. Sodomizer - Guitars
K. Heretic - Bass
T. Thanatos - Drums
A. Mire - Vocals
Danzer 616 - Guitars

Nocturnal Blood, Diocletian, Archgoat, Beherit, Kerasphorus, Destroyer 666, Katharsis, Cemtery Urn, Arghoslent, G.B.K., Demoncy, Goatmoon, Teitanblood......

Digital, Vinyl and CD (Blood Harvest and Helter Skelter Prodcutions/Bandcamp)

"Profaani" Demo by Kryptamok

Black Metal, Finland.

Released 15 June 2018.

Kryptamok brings a fresh breath of icy fury with its first demo "Profaani".

Great sounding, fast, raw and traditional black metal heavily rooted in the Finnish tradition.

Digital, Vynil, CD and Cassette (Helter Skelter Productions/Bandcamp)

Band Members:
Hex Inferi: Guitars, Vocals, Bass

Friday, June 1, 2018

"Ováte" by Ováte

Black Metal from Norway. 
Epic and venomous black metal by Taake and Gorgoroth members! 

Release Date June 2018

Band Members:
AINDIACHAÍ (Guitars & Bass)
BRODD (Drums)

Guest Vocals:
HOEST (Taake & Gorgoroth)
V'GANDR (Helheim & Taake)
ELD (Krakow & Aeturnus)
Ese (Slegest)
ØDEMARK (The 3rd Attempt)

Digital, CD format and vinyl (Soulseller Records, Bandcamp)

"Oksitosiini" by Hukutus

Black Metal from Tampere, Finland.

Release Date April 2018.

Hukutus self-describe their sound as “transmutating extreme soundscapes” and their work as an outlet in sonic form to quest and master their own darkness. After three singles they released their debut full length  "Oksitosiini" published as an unsigned independent release in Bandcamp. Listen and be the judge.

Band Members:
Aoghori - Vocals
Opakaj - Guitars
Tamas - Guitars
Akakabusa - Bass
Tsuuk - Keyboards

Digital (Hukutus, Bandcamp)